The palace was built at the end of the 16C and it
was acquired in 1605 by Cardinal Borghese who become Pope Paul V.
He gave the palace to his brother, who commissioned the architect
Flaminio Ponzio (1560-1613) to extend it towards the Tiber. He was
the one who designed the picturesque front in Via Ripetta which
used to overlook the Ripetta riverside port.